Ideas to Action:

Independent research for global prosperity

Public Event

Reception Honoring Frances Seymour

Thursday, May 1, 2014 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm

This event has reached capacity. Please click here to add your name to the waitlist.

Featuring remarks by
Olivier Serot Almeras
General Counsul, Embassy of France

Nancy Birdsall
President, Center for Global Development

Rachel Kyte
Vice President and Special Envoy, Climate Change, World Bank

Please join the Embassy of France and the Center for Global Development as we honor CGD Senior Fellow Frances Seymour, who has been awarded the title of Officer by the French Republic’s Order of Agricultural Merit (Officier de l'Ordre du Mérite Agricole) for her work to reduce deforestation and promote sustainable development as Director General of the Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) from 2006 to 2012. The Order of Agricultural Merit, consisting of three ranks: Commander, Officer and Knight, is an order bestowed by the French Republic to individuals for their outstanding services to agriculture in public duties or in the practice of agriculture. It also rewards people who distinguish themselves in scientific research or in related publications. To date, women account for only 27% of those receiving this honor and few of these are American women.

Seymour received the honor for her leadership in encouraging dialogue between the worlds of science and policy, developing a culture of impact assessment at CIFOR, establishing the annual Forest Day, and insisting on the highest quality scientific research. As a CGD Senior Fellow, Seymour leads the Tropical Forests for Climate and Development initiative. Her work has focused on creating a global consensus about the importance of forest conservation and promoting results-based financing for REDD+ (Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and Forest Degradation).

Related Topics:

Related Experts

Photo of Nancy Birdsall
Senior Fellow, President Emeritus

Thursday, May 1, 2014
6:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.

Photo ID required

Registration Deadline: Tuesday, April 29