Ideas to Action:

Independent research for global prosperity

Advisory Group

In 2003, the Center formed a research advisory committee (now called the advisory group). This prestigious group includes top-flight development economists, political scientists, sociologists, as well as policy advocates and makers. Their purpose is two fold: to serve as a sounding board on the quality and logic of our research program; and to catalyze a discussion on the next big issues that our research should address. Committee members are listed below.

Anne Krueger
Chair of the Advisory Group; Professor of International Economics, Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies; Senior Fellow, Center for International Development

Pranab Bardhan
Professor, Graduate School at the Department of Economics, University of California, Berkeley.

Jere Behrman
William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Economics and Research Associate at the Population Studies Center, University of Pennsylvania

David Bloom
Clarence James Gamble Professor of Economics and Demography, Department of Global Health and Population, Harvard School of Public Health

Kemal Dervis
Vice President and Director, Global Economy and Development, Brookings Institution

Shanta Devarajan
Chief Economist, Africa Region, the World Bank Group

Esther Duflo
Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics, MIT; Director, Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (MIT)

William Easterly
Professor of Economics and Co-Director of Development Research Institute, New York University

Carol Graham
Professor of Public Policy, University of Maryland; Leo Pasvolsky Senior Fellow, Economic Studies Program, Brookings Institution

Simon Johnson
Ronald A. Kurtz Professor of Entrepreneurship, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Senior Fellow at the Peterson Institute for International Economics

Gina Lambright
Assistant Professor of Political Science and International Affairs, The Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University

Nancy Lee
General Manager, Multilateral Investment Fund at Inter-American Development Bank

Edward Miguel
Professor of Economics and Director of the Center for Effective Global Action (CEGA), University of California, Berkeley

Jonathan Morduch
Professor of Public Policy and Economics, Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, New York University; Managing Director of the Financial Access Initiative

Deepa Narayan
Senior Adviser, Poverty Reduction and Economic Management Network, The World Bank

Jane Nelson
Senior Fellow and Director of Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative, Mossavar-Rahmani Center for Business and Government, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; nonresident senior fellow, Brookings Institution

Emily Oster
Associate Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, Brown University

Raymond Robertson
Professor of Economics and Director of the Latin American Studies Program, Macalester College

Dani Rodrik
Rafiq Hariri Professor of International Political Economy, The Kennedy School of Government

Kenneth Rogoff
Thomas D. Cabot Professor of Public Policy and Professor of Economics, Harvard University

Andrew Steer
President and CEO of World Resource Institute

Rebecca Thornton
Associate Professor of Economics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Nicolas van de Walle
John S. Knight Professor of International Studies and Director of the Mario Einaudi Center for International Studies, Cornell University.

Eric Werker
Associate Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School, Harvard University

Ngaire Woods
Director of the Global Economic Governance Programme, Professor of International Political Economy, Oxford University

Ernesto Zedillo
Director, Center for the Study of Globalization, Yale University